Posted by: scintillatingspeck | June 1, 2012

A guest post at Nature Bats Last, and a non-GMO speaking engagement.

I’ve been remiss in not mentioning this sooner on my very own blog.  I wrote a guest post over at Guy McPherson’s blog, Nature Bats Last, about the first reason why I’m homeschooling.  You should check it out.  I’m trying to kick my own butt to write another essay about homeschooling for Nature Bats Last.  Meanwhile I’ve been busy guiding the actual independent learning, as well as preparing and planting my community garden plot and my home garden, and dealing with flotsam and whatnot.

Oh!  And I was invited to speak at an event last Tuesday night at the Meekins Library in Williamsburg, MA, sponsored by Hilltown Families and the Hilltown Non-GMO Working Group, on resources to offer families who want to avoid genetically-modified food and engage in efforts to combat the pervasiveness of GMOs.  I was one of three speakers; the others were Ed Stockman and Tony(a) Lemos, who were fabulous.  I did a whole bunch of research and prepared a handout, which I’m hoping will get reproduced and distributed by anyone who sees fit. Here it is: my Non-GMO Resource List.  If you are in the dark about the dangers of GMOs, I recommend starting with a bit of reading at the Institute for Responsible Technology website.

And just because I think I spend too much time in my wordy head, here is an image instead of words: a photo I took of myself this evening, to remind myself that I am real.  Peace, friends.

Responses

  1. I love this photo of you. Makes me want to reach through the screen and hug you! ❤

    Thanks for the links in your post. I'm going to check the out.

  2. You look so cute in this… and you are most definitely real the evidence come’s through in your writing and your obvious passion for living. Keep up the good work you are helping people understand the world they live in is different than they think it is. We can never assume anything ….especially in the crumbling of empire stage we find ourselves in and the shenanigans in the food that is not safe to eat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

