Posted by: scintillatingspeck | November 18, 2012

Burial.

Tonight Lily inquired about the whereabouts of Grandpa’s body.  I told her that he was going to be cremated and that that meant his body would be burned in a fire and turned to ash, and explained that different people and cultures choose different methods of handling people’s bodies when they die.  I mentioned that some people want to be buried in the earth.

She thought about this for a minute, and said, calmly, “I want to be put in a cemetery when I die.”

I said, “Okay.  I also want to be buried in the earth.”

Tom said, “Do you want to be in a casket?”

I said, “No, I want a green burial.”

Lily immediately rejoined with, “I want a blue burial.”

We all laughed.

Then I looked at her beautiful, smiling, vibrant face, so alive, so beloved, and I brimmed over with tears.  I don’t regret being frank with her about death and cremation and burial.  I think more people need to talk openly about such things.  It’s just that…

“Mama, why are you crying?”

“I’m… I’m just sad.  I’m okay.  Just really sad.”

My five-year-old has taken it upon herself to state her wishes about wanting to be buried after she dies, in blue.

Leave a Reply

Categories

