Posted by: scintillatingspeck | February 12, 2013

Dragged out of myself.

I have come to drag you out of yourself and take you in my heart.
I have come to bring out the beauty you never knew you had
and lift you like a prayer to the sky.
~ Rumi

 

Dwelling on these words, they seem intimately connected to the quote by Pema Chodron I was thinking about earlier (primarily in the sense of stopping the mind and resting in the gap, the spaciousness).  The bewilderment and astonishment in response to Rumi’s words, however, are not induced by misfortune, or the wind blowing the curtains, but by the breathtaking, kinetic force of love.

The potent moment of connection, the declaration of solidarity, the rush of empathic response, the giddy laughter, the insistent, playful, outreached hand, the depth of mutual understanding, the offerings, the warmth: these radiant phenomena knock me over, stunned and mirthful, delirious with grace.

These love-moments, these swooning points of inspiration, are miraculously accessible, it turns out.  They can be conjured up as easily as reading Rumi’s words, for me, for now.  I whisper to all my beloveds, I can feel you dragging me out of myself, indeed.  Out of my fractious, embattled mind, my endless internal self-recriminations, my anguish, my unbearable weight of witness, and into the blazing warmth of your heart.  I will make sure to pause here, in the absence of mind-chatter, to bask in this indescribably delicious luminosity.  Your generous ways could melt a stone.  My wariness relaxes; my hair is down.  I am unadorned and you deem me beautiful. 

I reciprocate with joy and honor.

Photo on 2013-02-09 at 20.01 #2

Leave a Reply

Categories

