Posted by: scintillatingspeck | September 1, 2013

Tip jar.

Donate Button

My loves, I’ve been thinking about how to get my needs met, needs of all sorts.  It’s clear to me that I need to expand my options in terms of the flow of money in my life.  I believe strongly in transitioning to a gift economy, and it really blows my mind how much love and mutual benefit can be generated through the giving of gifts, free of expectation, just trusting that generosity begets generosity, and that when we are clear in articulating our needs, and responding to needs as they arise, we can achieve amazing things outside of monetary transactions.  We all have abundant gifts to share, no matter how much or little money we have.

Simultaneously, I’m still dwelling in this culture, and it’s still extraordinarily useful to have at least some money to get certain needs met.  I also think it’s a good practice to ask, as clearly as possible, for what one needs, regardless of outcome.

Thus, I’m adding a “Donate” button, a virtual tip jar, to my blog.  If and ONLY if you are moved to do so, and have the means, I invite you to “tip” me through Paypal.  Your contribution will be used to further the sustenance and dreams of an aspiring writer, a full-time homeschooling mom who is striving to devote more time to writing about this wild ride of a life.  If you are not moved to do so and/or don’t have the funds, please know that this blog is free for your perusal, and I’m deeply grateful for your attention.

There are some other non-monetary “tips” that I’m seeking, as well.  As I continue to develop my thoughts about bringing money into my life, I’d be grateful for your insights and ideas and suggestions.  Right now, what I’m most focused on is making sure that my flexible is schedule for homeschooling Lily.  I’d like to be able to work from home and set my own hours, and ideally be my own boss.  I’d like any paid work that I do to feel meaningful and useful.  I’d love to find paid work through writing, but I recognize the challenges with that.  I’m also thinking about doing consulting using one or more of my various skill-sets: providing reference/research services (I’m an academic reference librarian by training/experience); helping people grapple on a personal level with “sustainability” issues; helping people to consider homeschooling/unschooling; offering assistance with finding and creating alternatives to standard mental health care; etc.  If you have thoughts to offer me, please leave a comment or, if you prefer, email me at scintillatingspeck [at] gmail [dot] com.

Loves, I’m full of gratitude for your gifts, and ever-eager to offer you gifts in return.  What will you ask for today, and from whom?

Leaving you with this inspiring, brilliant presentation by Amanda Palmer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

