Posted by: scintillatingspeck | May 10, 2014

Nomad medicine.

An unexpected package arrived from South Dakota.

The enclosed card read:

Dear Jen,

I hope you don’t mind, but I have these small gifts for you and Lily.  I was going to save them for when you arrived here during your journey, but it made more sense for me to send them now, as they—the items—can be carried & added to energetically throughout your travels.  I put one small smokey quartz bead in your medicine bag, purified in the sun, & saved tobacco, sweet grass & sage to add when you get here.  The animal stone is for Lily.  I am so excited for you as you prepare to set out into the great wide open!  Until we meet,
Love, H

There were also inserts describing the meaning and purpose of the medicine bag and the animal stone.

A medicine bag is an ancient item that spiritually represents the person who wears it.  In 1991 the body of a man who lived over 5,000 years ago was found frozen in a high mountain range and with him was a medicine bag.  The medicine bag is known in all cultures and throughout all of history.  They contain objects such as leaves, feathers, stones, herbs such as sweetgrass, sage, cedar, lavender or pinion, and other objects which have been added by the wearer and considered spiritually significant.   …

The reasons to carry a medicine bag are for guidance, healing and protection.  Most medicine bags contain a quartz crystal as one of its objects.  Quartz energy resonates with all the energies of the physical body and is considered a remarkable healing stone.  It connects you to your spiritual self.

Other items you might like in your own medicine bag are items you may have found a special attraction to or resonance with in your life.  For example, a special shell you found at the seashore or a feather you found or a piece of pine tree or a juniper berry that holds meaning for you.  We often meet up with items that seem to be just waiting for us to pick them up and carry them home and then we don’t know what to do with them.  This is one place to give them a home close to your heart.  The essence of these special items create an energy in your medicine bag and that energy is the force that represents you.  So by creating a medicine bag and wearing it close to your heart you are connecting with your spiritual self, the authentic you and always remembering who you are.   …

Also, a postcard arrived for Lily.

It says “Friends” underneath the picture of the horses nuzzling.  The reverse reads:

Dearest Lily,

You do not know me, but I am a friend of your mama’s & have heard about your grand adventure this summer.  You may know that you will be visiting us in South Dakota & I just can’t wait to meet you!  Have a fun & safe trip!

Much love,
until we meet, H, D, S, S, & N

My beloved friend, every bit of our connection is sacred medicine to me.  Thank you for wrapping me and my child in your love and magic.  We will carry the medicine bag and animal stone everywhere we go.  You heal my heart, my true-blue soul-kin.

There is one item to add right away to the medicine bag, from my friend K, given to me months ago, for the purpose of bringing on the trip filled with blessings and protection from my local friends.

My heart is right where it needs to be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

