Posted by: scintillatingspeck | June 6, 2014

Day One. Florence, Mass. to Westchester County, New York.

…. and we are launched into the current.  The water is fine, swirling, tangible, burbling sweetly.

This morning Lily and I said goodbye to our familiar surroundings and faces.  Some tears were contributed to the current, for good measure.

We had a mostly smooth drive to Westchester County, New York, to Pauline’s house.  (Except for the car that suddenly swerved into our lane, causing me to swerve; that made me jittery for a while.)  Pauline is wonderfully welcoming and her peonies, unlike mine, are blooming, so I’m getting my peony fix.

Lily has been very excited about taking pictures with my camera; I think I might need to help her set up her own blog to share them.

Later, there are plans to go to a carnival in town (eliciting great exclamations of delight from Lily) and then some conversation after the wee dervish is in bed.  I am very glad to be here.

(I think if you click on the pictures it makes them bigger, but I will need to check and make sure….)

Goodbye, house...

Goodbye, house…

...goodbye, lone, blooming rose...

…goodbye, lone, blooming rose…

...goodbye, cherries...

…goodbye, cherries…

The back of our house.

The back of our house.

Lily and I on our back porch just before we got in the car

Lily and I on our back porch just before we got in the car

...and Pauline's back porch.  We're waiting for hummingbirds.

…and Pauline’s back porch. We’re waiting for hummingbirds.

Pauline has many fascinating objects that Lily is invited to touch.  This whole altar is like a huge Lily-magnet.

Pauline has many fascinating objects that Lily is invited to touch. This whole altar is like a huge Lily-magnet.

A spiraling eddy in the river; an excellent place to float and look around.

A spiraling eddy in the river; an excellent place to float and look around.

Lily took this picture of Pauline's face and also took a picture of...

Lily took this picture of Pauline’s face and also took a picture of…

.... her foot!

…. her foot!

We had a really nice lunch.  (Lily ate ALL the blueberries.)

We had a really nice lunch. (Lily ate ALL the blueberries.)

These next pictures were all taken by Lily.  Yeah, she’s going to need her own blog, I think.  I’m fascinated to observe what she chooses to photograph.  It reminds me that so much of what I want for myself over these next few months is simply to observe.

DSCN1738DSCN1739DSCN1743DSCN1744 DSCN1745 DSCN1747 DSCN1749 DSCN1750 DSCN1751 DSCN1752 DSCN1757 DSCN1760 DSCN1761 DSCN1762 DSCN1763 DSCN1764 DSCN1765 DSCN1766 DSCN1767 DSCN1768 DSCN1769 DSCN1770 DSCN1772

Responses

  1. lily is a beauty seeker–and finder. you two are lovely, as is pauline ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

