Posted by: scintillatingspeck | June 23, 2014

Huntsville, Texas.

Yesterday, with my energy sorely flagging, we drove from New Orleans to Huntsville, Texas, where we’ll be for the next few days.  It was amazing to observe the landscape as we drove over watery bayous and admired all the different kinds of trees, plants, and birds.  Just over the Lousiana-Texas border, we stopped at a rest area which was situated on Blue Elbow Swamp, where we saw an ALLIGATOR.  I think it’s hard to convey how exciting this is to northern lasses such as ourselves.  The very first thing we saw in Texas, though, was the “Watch for Snakes” sign.  Then we met a nice lady who gave us brochures and a “Don’t Mess with Texas” sticker; she said that that meant we shouldn’t litter in Texas.  I assured her we are conscientious non-littering sorts and would not mess with Texas, in any case.

Somehow I managed to follow my Google Maps directions on my laptop before the battery completely gave out.  (No, I do not have a GPS, nor a smart phone complete with GPS apps, and do not plan to get those things, so please don’t suggest it.)  My current system works pretty well, where I bring up maps while I have access to wifi, then zoom in on the text so that it’s quite visible when I place the laptop on the seat next to me.  If I had had the laptop plugged into the power inverter, the battery would not have been an issue, but I forgot.  (The power inverter, which plugs into the car’s cigarette lighter, has proven to be an excellent item to have!)  It’s still a bit challenging to follow directions in this way when I have no idea where I’m going and many roads lack signage, but I find myself calculating mileage continually and doing it that way.  “0.8 miles… okay… turn right.. now 4.6 miles…. slight left…” We made it all the way to Nancy, Mike, and Alex’s house, and we were SO HAPPY to arrive here after all that driving.

Today we went for a little walk around the yard and after about 10 minutes the skies opened up and we were all drenched.  It was a good little adventure.  Lily and her buddy Alex shared a bubble bath and now we’re all in bathrobes and ready for a nap.

Talking and drinking tea with Nancy for hours is pure heaven.  We so rarely get to see each other in person, so when we do, it’s a cherished event.  Being present with my beloved friend, and with all of my beloveds, truly feels like the ultimate joy.

I’ve still not managed to formally interview anyone during this trip, and I’m letting go of that plan.  It seems more than sufficient for me to be absorbing all of the conversations and observations that have been happening.  I’ll keep sponging up all this juicy life.

DSCN2158 DSCN2159 DSCN2160 DSCN2161 DSCN2162 DSCN2163 DSCN2167 DSCN2168 DSCN2169 DSCN2170 DSCN2171 DSCN2172 DSCN2173 DSCN2174 DSCN2175 DSCN2176 DSCN2177 DSCN2178 DSCN2179 DSCN2181

Leave a Reply

Categories

