Posted by: scintillatingspeck | October 22, 2015

Switching gears.

I want to try something.  I want to lay off the Facebook and commit, instead, to writing on this blog.  It’s an experiment in self-care and liberation, mostly.  I’m tired of listening to myself say, “Uggggh, Facebook is so painful sometimes—why do I keep coming around?  What am I doing?  Get me out of here”—instead, I want to actually get out of there and see if I can get clear, alleviate the social pangs, spend more time doing things that feel important and necessary.

Like writing.

Like paying attention to food, sleep, going outside, physical movement.

Like reexamining my life and Lily’s and doing whatever is needed so we can be sane little specks.

Like reaching out to people in different ways than through status updates.

I’m not sure what this means in practice in the near future, but we’ll see, right?  I’m not promising to be consistent; I just want to feel different.  I might write more frequent, shorter blog posts.  I don’t know.  I usually cross-post a link to Facebook when I update my blog; I’m not convinced that I’ll continue to do that, although it would surely mean fewer readers.  However, maximizing the number of readers has never been the point, for me.  How fortunate I feel that I don’t have that as a goal.

Blessings on your journey, dears.

 

Responses

  1. Sending love and blessings and unconditional support, my love!

  2. There are things I toy with, starting and stopping and testing and thinking. It took me years of false starts before I settled into a daily meditation practice. My sugar habit and I are still dancing that on-again, off-again dance. Your relationship with Facebook has reminded me of these things in my life. ❤

    • Ah, yes, you have noticed my three steps forward, two steps back pattern. So it goes.

  3. Likewise. Journeys and journals. Looking forward to the sparkle of your speck!! 🐢

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thank you, Keith. I’m pretty determined to sparkle. Meanwhile, I imagine you’ve got vistas galore on your epic ride.


Leave a Reply

Categories

