Posted by: scintillatingspeck | December 13, 2015

Art surge.

My sister and I visited MASS MoCA (Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art) in North Adams today.  I’m experiencing art-overstimulation, on the whole, this weekend, as we also went to the Cottage Street Open Studios yesterday, and tonight a friend and I went to a storytelling/lullaby performance by members of the Royal Frog Ballet.  All this art infusion is making my mind explode.

Which is why it was perfect that my sister captured a few images of me, immersed, exploding, surging in waves.  I suppose I look relatively staid, but you might know me better by now.

This is what the inside of my head looks like sometimes.  Especially these days.  Art by Jena Priebe; photo by Liz von Wagner.

This is what the inside of my head looks like sometimes. Especially these days.  Exhibit: “Bibliotechaphilia.” Art by Jena Priebe; photo by Liz von Wagner.

This installation of digital waves by artist Clifford Ross took my breath away—the still image doesn’t do it justice, as this was pointilism in aqueous motion.  I wanted to stand there a long time, possibly break into song, or cry, and alarm the other museum-goers.  Remember I wrote a poem a few days ago, I pour out the Great Lake?  Here it was, tidal and ravishing.  The artist calls it a “Wave Cathedral.”

Ravished in the cathedral of water.  Art by Clifford Ross; photo by Liz von Wagner.

Ravished in the cathedral of water. Art by Clifford Ross; photo by Liz von Wagner.

I want us to be awed together, loves, by the ever-flowing washes of inspiration, by the intimacy of shared thoughts and visions, by the tenderness of lullabies in the night.

Responses

  1. Nice pictures, good post

  2. Oh my, I found this video of Wave Cathedral, and I see what you mean: https://vimeo.com/128836969

    • YES! Thank you for posting this link, Loma! Isn’t it incredible?


Leave a Reply

Categories

