Posted by: scintillatingspeck | December 15, 2015

Dilemmas of social engagement.


Responses

  1. I left facebook a couple of years back and I’m still asked why. I cannot remember any one reason, but there were several. And I’ve still maintained to keep touch with all the handful of people I communicated with anyway. There is literally no one I could just call and talk to who would understand and see things in the same way. There are probably only one or maximum two people I can actually call out of the blue, and even they would be surprised.

  2. Merry Christmas to Lily and you. You have a place in my heart. with Love, Lisa

  3. Merry Christmas to Lily and you. I have a special place in my heart for you. Love, Lisa

    • Thank you so much, dear Lisa. Merry Christmas to you and your sweet family. Your heart is a beautiful place to be.

  4. I’ve been enmeshed in a relational wrestling match of my own over here this week. It’s good to feel I’m not the only one. ❤

    • May the wrestling be fruitful and lead to ever-increased clarity.

  5. I recently quit an online blog/discussion group I’d been participating in for about a year (Scott Adams, Dilbert blog) because it had changed from a silicon valley tech/nerd humorous blog into an ugly political thing and began attracting commentary which I find disturbing. I felt a bit bereft at first, but I also began to feel better not having to dread going into pointless verbal battle with some real assholes each day. Nich That Hanh talks about how we feed our minds just like we feed our bodies. I’ve stopped feeding that particular poison to myself.
    Facebook doesn’t have that effect on me, maybe because I actually enjoy a healthy balance in my life between our real world surroundings here and being online for an hour or two a day, mostly over at FB. I’m not resorting to social media for fulfillment of unmet needs. And my involvement there is with people of like mind who have become real friends to me. It is nourishing for me. We all gotta do what we gotta do.
    Hey, I had another one of those spontaneous interactions with a new person I’d not yet met the other day. A lady about my age and I got into a spirited discussion about how to be happy in life! She had some great ideas and she liked mine as well. We got along like a house on fire. This occurred while we were waiting for our fish tacos at our friends’ Loko Wraps takeout, so we took the conversation outside to the tables there and continued while we ate our food.
    We’re doing the xmas dance already. I’m planning on going round the neighbors on xmas eve with gifts of some killer da kine. I actually observe the solstice myself but have nothing against xmas either.
    http://www.lokowraps.com/

    • It’s uplifting to hear about both your deliberate disengagement from pointless discussions and your chance and non-chance encounters with good people, Randle. It helps me to hear about people using Facebook in a life-enhancing way. I’m still not sure if I want to return; if I do, I think I will have to have some very strict guidelines for myself, and even then, the prospect makes me nervous. But I recognize that there are aspects I truly miss, like having more frequent contact with you and others who are clearly only sources of shared benevolence.

      Lily and I still talk about visiting you in Hawaii, if we can ever manage to scrape up money for airfare.

      The Winter Solstice/Yule is a very important holiday for me; marking the darkest day of the year and the inevitable, gradual return of the light brings me comfort. Lily and I have some Solstice events to attend and that brings great comfort, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

